A-Level Graphical Calculator Guide

Casio fx-CG100
Essential Administration on CG100
Exam Mode
HOME → Exam Mode → Enter Exam Mode → United Kingdom
  • (exam mode lasts 12 hours)
Reset the Calculator
HOME → System → Reset → Initialize All
  • (or pick another option)
Set Your Name (Ownership Identification)
HOME → System → User Name
  • to store your credentials. Helpful for reclaiming misplaced units!
Speed Tip
Speed Tip: Use the numbers on menus to jump straight to items without having to scroll down and press OK.
New Essential Graphical Calculator Skills
Calculating P(X ≤ r) for Binomial Distribution: X ~ B(n, p)
OPTION A:
HOME → Calculate
  • use CATALOG → Distribution → Binomial Cumulative Dist to populate BinomialCD(r, n, p) directly on screen.
OPTION B:
HOME → Distribution → Binomial
  • Set Tail to (X≤) (safest)
  • Set Data to Variable.
  • Input target value for x (the value r), Numtrial (n), and p (probability p).
  • Scroll down to Execute and press OK or EXE.
Calculating P(X ≤ r) for Normal Distribution: X ~ N(μ, σ²)
OPTION A:
HOME → Calculate
  • use CATALOG → Distribution → Normal Cumulative Dist to populate NormCD(-999, (r-μ)/σ) directly on screen.
OPTION B:
HOME → Distribution → Normal
  • Set Tail to (≤X≤) (safest)
  • Set Data to Variable.
  • Set Lower to a large negative bound (e.g. -99999).
  • Set Upper to your boundary value r.
  • Input mean (μ) and standard deviation (σ). Note the order!
  • Scroll to Execute and press OK.
IMPORTANT ADVICE: Always write the correct notation on your exam scripts: Φ((r-μ)/σ)
Calculating P(X ≤ r) for Poisson Distribution: X ~ Poisson(λ)Further Maths
OPTION A:
HOME → Calculate
  • use CATALOG → Distribution → Poisson Cumulative Dist to call PoissonCD(r, λ).
OPTION B:
HOME → Distribution → Poisson
  • Set Tail to (X≤)
  • Set Data to Variable.
  • Input target value x (r) and parameter λ.
  • Scroll to Execute and press OK.
Inverse Binomial: Find min r such that P(X ≤ r) > x
HOME → Calculate
  • use CATALOG → Distribution → Inverse Binomial Cumulative to call InvBinomialCD(x,n,p)
IMPORTANT ADVICE: You MUST check your answer using the non-inverse function to obtain upper and lower bounds. You must write these down.
Inverse Normal: For X ~ N(μ, σ²) Solve to find z=(r-μ)/σ if P(X ≤ r)=p
HOME → Calculate
  • use CATALOG → Distribution → Inverse Normal Cumul Dist to call InvNormCD(p)
IMPORTANT ADVICE: You MUST write Φ-1(p) =... on your exam paper to show correct notation.
Inverse Poisson: for X ~ Poisson(λ)Further Maths
HOME → Calculate
  • use CATALOG → Distribution → Inverse Poisson Cumul Dist to call InvPoissonCD(p,λ)
IMPORTANT ADVICE: You MUST check your answer using the non-inverse function to obtain upper and lower bounds. You must write these down.
Matrix Determinants and Inverses and PowersFurther Maths
HOME → Calculate
  • To Enter Matrix: Press TOOLS → m×n enter rows x cols (mxn) and fill in matrix
  • Inverse: [enter matrix]-1 (use power -1), (or CATALOG → Matrix → Inverse Matrix)
  • Determinant: CATALOG → Matrix → Determinant to call Det([enter matrix])
  • Power: Like inverse, but use power other than -1. Power must be a positive integer.
Matrix MultiplicationFurther Maths
HOME → Calculate
  • To Enter Matrix: Press TOOLS → m×n enter rows x cols (mxn) and fill in matrix
  • Use the regular multiplication (×) button to multiply two matrices entered as above.
Using Matrix AnswerFurther Maths
HOME → Calculate
  • To use previous Matrix Answer: Press VARIABLE → Matrix → Mat Ans:
Complex numbersFurther Maths
HOME → Calculate
  • Use the green i button (green SHIFT and i is on the 9 button).
  • Then just enter your calculation using i as needed. eg √(4i)
  • For Complex Conjugate, Argument etc. Use the CATALOG → Complex Number menu.
Vector Calculations (Dot and Cross Product and Magnitude)Further Maths
HOME → Calculate
  • Right tab to Vectors.
  • EXE to enter a Vector
  • Left tab back to Calculation
  • Use CATALOG → Vector → Dot Product (for Dot product) etc.
  • Insert vector using VARIABLE → Vector and select your vector.
  • For Magnitude use CATALOG → Vector → Vector Norm
Other Essential Skills
Calculating Combination (nCr), Permutations (nPr), and Factorials (!)
HOME → Calculate and use CATALOG → Probability
  • For nCr or nPr: Type the value n first, then use Combination (C) or Permutation (P) from CATALOG → Probability, then type r, and press EXE.
  • For Factorial: Type your value, then select Factorial (!) from the Probability catalog.
Calculate Mean, Variance and Standard Deviation of a Data Set
Enter data:
HOME → Statistics
  • Input your sample values down List 1.
  • Optionally put frequencies in List 2:
  • Tab-Right ( ->| ) to Setup
  • Set top option to Calculate Summary Statistics
  • Set 2nd option to 1-Variable
  • Set 1Var Freq to be 1 (default) or List2 (for frequency data)
View summary statistics:
  • Scroll down to Execute and press OK to see summary statistics. Note sx is the sample standard deviation (dividing by (n-1))
Use summary data in calculations:
HOME → Calculate use CATALOG → Statistics
  • Mean: CATALOG → Statistics → Mean to use Mean() then VARIABLE → List → List 1 (Only works for non-frequency data).
  • Standard Deviation: CATALOG → Statistics → Sample Standard Deviation to use StdDev() then VARIABLE → List → List 1 (Only works for non-frequency data).
  • Variance: Square the Standard Deviation obtained from above.
Setting Degrees or Radians
SETTINGS → Angle
  • (Use SETTINGS button again to exit SETTINGS mode)
Converting Answers Between Fractions and Decimals
Direct Key → FORMAT (button at bottom right of calculator)
  • Press the primary physical FORMAT key once to toggle intermediate calculation answers instantly between fractional/radical forms and rounded decimal values.
  • Press SHIFT → FORMAT for a comprehensive menu of representations.
  • Go to SETTINGS → FORMAT Key to change the behaviour of the FORMAT button.
Hyperbolic Trig FunctionsFurther Maths
HOME → Calculate use CATALOG → Hyperbolic Calc
  • Select the required hyperbolic function (sinh, cosh, tanh) or their unique inverses directly from the catalog listing.
Important Skills to Aid Efficiency etc
Variable Storage
  • Needs right green arrow (green SHIFT and button below shift) and letter (orange ALPHA button and pick a letter).
  • Eg type: “Ans → A” to store the previous answer as variable A.
The Table Function (eg to Search for Polynomial Root)
HOME → Graph&Table
  • Scroll up to the top option (Type | Viewing Setup) and press OK
  • Change Type as necessary (usually to y=)
  • Use TOOLS → Delete to delete existing formulae if necessary
  • Use x button (immediately under green shift button) to start typing formula. Press ‘EXE’ to save it
  • Tab left (|<-) to get to the Table view (or use arrow buttons and OK to select ‘table’).
  • When viewing a Table use TOOLS → Set Table Domain → Range to set the domain values as a range (start, end, step).
  • Notice that you can use a ‘List’ instead for your domain values.
  • (Enter a ‘List’ at HOME → Statistics)
Drawing Cartesian x-y Graphs
HOME → Graph&Table (Same as above for tables)
  • then enter a formula, and tab to (or select) graph.
  • TOOLS → View Window lets you change the axes. (Tip: The Pre-set Windows are good)
  • You then have to press back (curly back arrow under Home button at top left) then Tab right to the graph again and press OK on the Draw option.
  • To zoom in and out, use the addition (+) and subtraction (-) buttons on your calculator. To move around, use the arrow buttons.
  • When viewing a graph, press the back button to return to the formulae.
Finding Roots of Graphs
HOME → Graph&Table (when viewing a graph)
  • TOOLS → Graph Solve → Root
  • Use up/down arrow buttons to choose a graph, then press the OK button select it.
  • Use left/right arrow buttons to select a root.
  • Press the OK button to mark the selected root on the graph with its coordinates.
  • Read the value of the selected root at the bottom of the screen
  • Press the Back button to exit ‘Root viewing mode’
Finding Intersections of Graphs
HOME → Graph&Table (when viewing a graph)
  • TOOLS → Graph Solve → Intersection
  • Use left/right arrow buttons to select an intersection.
  • Press the OK button to mark the selected intersection on the graph with its coordinates.
  • Read the accurate coordinates of the selected intersection at the bottom of the screen
  • Press the Back button to exit ‘Intersection viewing mode’.
Finding Min/Max of Graph
HOME → Graph&Table (when viewing a graph)
  • TOOLS → Graph Solve → Maximum Value
  • Use up/down arrow buttons to choose a graph, then press the OK button select it.
  • Use left/right arrow buttons to select a maximum.
  • Press the OK button to mark the selected maximum on the graph with its coordinates.
  • Read the accurate coordinates of the selected maximum at the bottom of the screen
  • Press the Back button to exit ‘Maximum viewing mode’.
  • Minimums work in the same way. Just use TOOLS → Graph Solve → Minimum Value instead
Drawing Graphs of Modulus Functions
HOME → Graph&Table
  • use CATALOG → Numeric Calc → Absolute Value
Drawing Parametric Graphs
HOME → Graph&Table (when on the formula view)
  • Scroll up to the top option (Type | Viewing Setup) and press OK
  • Change Type to Param
Drawing Scatter Graphs, Getting the Line of Best Fit and Other Stats
HOME → Statistics
  • (and press the Back button if necessary to return to the List view)
  • Use TOOLS → Delete → All lists to clear the table
  • Enter your data
  • Tab right to Setup view
  • Press OK on the top option and select Draw Statistics Graph.
  • Press OK on Graph1 then press OK again to change it to Scatter Plot
  • Tab right to actually draw the graph.
  • Tab right again and select Linear Regression(ax+b) for equation and r value
  • Tab right again to see line of best fit (Regression line) drawn on the graph
Drawing Polar (r,θ) GraphsFurther Maths
HOME → Graph&Table (when on the formula view)
  • Scroll up to the top option (Type | Viewing Setup) and press OK
  • Change Type to r=
  • If your graph looks odd, check TOOLS → View Window → T,θ Pitch is small enough.
Solving Quadratic Equations
HOME → Equation → Polynomial
  • Scroll to the top (quadratic) option and press the OK button.
  • Enter the coefficients
  • Tab right to see the roots
  • Use the back button to solve a different equation.
Solving Simultaneous Equations
HOME → Equation → Simultaneous
  • Scroll to the number of unknowns required and press the OK button.
  • Enter the equations
  • Tab right to see the roots
  • Use the back button to solve a different set of equations.
Solving Any Equation Numerically (To Find All Roots)
HOME → Calculate
  • use CATALOG → Function Analysis → Solve Equation (SolveN)
  • Type your equation using the x key and the = key (Green shift on left bracket)
  • eg SolveN(5x-2=1)
  • eg SolveN(sin(2x)=0.5,x,0,360)
This is VERY useful for checking answers, but the examiners know you have this, so you MUST show your method in an exam. It isn’t guaranteed that it will work, and you may need to specify the range to search for roots (as in the 2nd example)
Solving Quadratic Inequalities
HOME → Num Ineq
  • Scroll to the top (quadratic) option and press the OK button.
  • Choose the desired inequality directional logic (> 0, ≤ 0, etc.).
  • Enter the equation coefficients.
  • Tab right to see the results
Calculating Definite Integrals (With Limits), to Check Work
HOME → Calculate
  • use CATALOG → Function Analysis → Integration (∫)
  • Fill in the boxes and press EXE
Calculating Gradients at a Specific Point
HOME → Calculate
  • use CATALOG → Function Analysis → 1st Derivative (d/dx)
  • Input the function using the x button (under the shift button)
  • Input the x coordinate of the point you wish to calculate the gradient
  • Press the EXE button
Interesting Features for Exploration When Learning
Defining Functions, for Composite and Recursive Expressions: f(Ans)
  • Define your functions at HOME → Graph&Table at y1 and y2 etc.
  • Use your functions at HOME → Calculate using VARIABLE → Function
  • Eg try: y1(y2(5)) or y1(Ans) EXE EXE EXE…
Visualising Graphs of Statistical Distributions
HOME → Distribution
  • For details see OPTION B of the Distribution Calculations near the top of this page.
Calculating and Drawing Tangents and Normals at a Specific Point
HOME → Graph&Table (when viewing a graph)
  • press TOOLS → Sketch → Tangent Line or Normal Line
  • Use up/down arrow buttons to choose a graph.
  • Use left/right arrow buttons to move position of tangent/normal.
  • Type an x coordinate value directly with the keypad and press EXE.
Probability Simulation
HOME → Prob Sim
  • Select built-in experiment animations (Coin Flip, Dice Roll, Card Draw, or Random Numbers).
  • Simulate multiple experiments very quickly and see visual results.
Recursion (Number-Crunch Up to 300 Terms of an Inductive Sequence)
HOME → Recursion
  • Use CATALOG → Recursion → un to enter recursive formula
  • Use navigation arrows to change top Viewing Setup options, including Set Table Domain
Other Features
Draw Box-Plots and Histograms
HOME → Statistics
  • Very similar to drawing scatter graphs (see above)
3D Graphs
HOME → 3D Graph
  • A bit fiddly, so not really recommended
Constructions (Geometry)
HOME → Geometry
  • A bit fiddly, so not really recommended

Designed for A-Level Maths students. Written by mrbutler with formatting help from Gemini AI

Recommended videos:

Exam observation: These Calculator abilities are not a secret 'cheat' for exams. The exam boards know about all this and explicitly encourage/require use of these calculators. You can certainly use your calculator to check an answer, but to get the marks in an exam you will often have to show how you do it with full method on paper.
An example phrase from the front of an A-level paper:

[Reference: OCR A Level Mathematics B (MEI) H640/02 Pure Mathematics and Statistics Wednesday 12 June 2019]